The Pleasure of Jazz

Hello,

I play the alto saxophone, and I recently learned a new song, “Lullaby of Birdland,” written in 1952 by George Shearing, with lyrics by George David Weiss. I really love Ella Fitzgerald‘s version of this song, because of her smoothness in singing it and because of how relaxed she sounds while singing it. I really enjoy playing it, too, because of the fast finger movements and the challenge of making your music sound laid back and relaxed. I already loved jazz, but this was new entree into the jazz world for me. I went on Spotify and downloaded a lot of jazz, and another song that I really like to listen to now is “Blue Bossa.” I hope you all check out these great songs and like them.

3 thoughts on “The Pleasure of Jazz

  1. Ah, Ella Fitzgerald reminds me of being a kid. Waking up in the morning, hearing my dad singing with her and the smell of bacon. Thanks for this. This type of nostalgia is so nice to have once in awhile.

  2. Una vez más GRACIAS por la recomendación. Justamente en este momento estoy escuchando a Fitzgerald en Spotify, justamente “Lullaby of birdland” suena perfecto para esta tarde relajada de viernes.

Leave a comment